Employees who work a minimum of 20 hours per week, for at least 9 months per year, are eligible for holiday pay. Employees with a non-traditional workweek (ex: 4 5-hour days) that are not scheduled to work on the holiday, will receive holiday pay based on the number of hours they are scheduled to work per week.

McPherson College recognizes these holidays annually. They are as follows:

  • Fourth of July
  • Wednesday before Thanksgiving
  • Thanksgiving
  • Friday following Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Eve
  • Christmas Day
  • New Year’s Day
  • Good Friday
  • McPherson County All School’s Day
  • Memorial Day
  • Additional days to be determined by the administration (ex: days between Christmas and New Year’s Day)

A complete schedule of the designated holidays is distributed annually.

Holidays that fall on a Saturday are observed the preceding Friday, and holidays that fall on a Sunday are observed the following Monday.

In order to be eligible to receive holiday pay, the employee is required to work their regularly scheduled hours the workday preceding and the workday following the holiday unless on an approved vacation or sick leave. For purposes of this policy, a multi-day holiday shall be considered one holiday period.

Working on a Holiday

In certain circumstances workload may necessitate that an employee work on an observed holiday. A regular, non-exempt employee required to work on a holiday will receive 1 ½ times their regular rate per hour for hours actually worked, plus holiday pay at the regular rate of pay.